• August 10th @ The Angels

    Posted by on August 10th, 2008 · Comments (15)

    Just by chance today, I happened to stumble across ESPN’s live coverage of the Little League Senior Softball World Series this afternoon – during the bottom of the seventh inning. At that time, the game was tied. Puerto Rico had runners on second and third with one out. New Jersey was having a team huddle on the mound – to discuss how to handle the situation.

    The next batter for Puerto Rico hit a grounder to second – and the second baseman for New Jersey fielded the ball…but she threw it to first base to retire the batter…as the winning run scored (from third).

    The ESPN announcers quickly commented…wondering why the second baseman didn’t make a throw home…to try and cut off the winning run. But, they didn’t get a chance to get too far into it…because the broadcast was ending.

    At that time, all I could think of was “Wow. What a terrible way to lose a close and important ballgame.”

    Later, I watched the Yankees lose to the Angels today. It was just like watching New Jersey against Puerto Rico all over again…

    “Wow. What a terrible way to lose a close and important ballgame.”

    Comments on August 10th @ The Angels

    1. OnceIWasAYankeeFan
      August 10th, 2008 | 7:41 pm

      How does a run score when the batter is out before reaching first base? Is there some Merkle rule I don’t know about?

      Anyway – the Angels announcers were ripping Cano – I don’t know if he could have fielded it but most infielders are eating a lot of dirt on that play.

    2. Raf
      August 10th, 2008 | 8:01 pm

      How does a run score when the batter is out before reaching first base? Is there some Merkle rule I don’t know about?
      ————
      There was only one out when the fielder threw to first.

      I don’t know if Cano could’ve gotten it either, but apparently there was some sort of miscommunication of that ball.

    3. OnceIWasAYankeeFan
      August 10th, 2008 | 8:06 pm

      D’OH!
      I was assuming there must have been two outs …

    4. August 10th, 2008 | 9:04 pm

      Yes, there was only one out at the time – hence the bizarre nature of the fielder’s choice.

    5. August 10th, 2008 | 9:14 pm

      FWIW, if this was 1919 and not 2008, you would swear this game was fixed…the way that Cano and Betemit “played” that 10-hopper in the 9th that went for the GWRBI.

    6. antone
      August 10th, 2008 | 10:20 pm

      The groundball by Figgins was pretty weak. I think Singleton was saying that Betetmit should have went after it but he went to cover the bag instead.

      Shouldn’t Mo have started that inning though?

      Marte = this year’s Eric Gagne

    7. Raf
      August 10th, 2008 | 10:37 pm

      Yes, there was only one out at the time – hence the bizarre nature of the fielder’s choice.
      ———–
      I’d chalk that up to inexperience.

    8. August 10th, 2008 | 10:46 pm

      Just a few minutes after a conference on the mound where the coach told the team what to do?

      Anyway, back to the Yanks game…what ya’ll think about A-Rod trying to steal third with Nady up?

    9. Raf
      August 10th, 2008 | 11:01 pm

      Yeah, she wouldn’t be the first to have a braincramp, nor will she be the last.

      Don’t know why Rodriguez tried to steal 3b (trying to make something happen?), maybe he had a braincramp too? :)

    10. antone
      August 11th, 2008 | 7:15 am

      Anyway, back to the Yanks game…what ya’ll think about A-Rod trying to steal third with Nady up?
      ———————————————-

      He was probably over thinking as usual and trying to make something happen.

    11. August 11th, 2008 | 8:22 am

      Did ya’ll see this in the paper this AM?

      ~~~Even the Angels’ Torii Hunter was stunned by the ending, saying half the players didn’t realize the game was over. He said of Cano’s failure to get to the ball: “That’s their team, man. That’s their problem. We were wondering that, too. I’m glad that’s not my team. If it was, we’d probably be in here arguing right now.” ~~~

    12. Raf
      August 11th, 2008 | 10:16 am

      Anyone remember a game in Boston where Rivera gave up the game on a flyball single that he thought would be caught? I believe Bernie was playing CF at the time.

    13. August 11th, 2008 | 11:13 am

      That was 2004. And, it was Lofton, not Bernie.

      http://tinyurl.com/628r3o

    14. antone
      August 11th, 2008 | 1:35 pm

      Catch the damn baaaallll

    15. Raf
      August 11th, 2008 | 2:18 pm

      And it was Yankee Stadium, not Fenway…

    Leave a reply

    You must be logged in to post a comment.