• The Yankees Since September 2nd

    Posted by on September 24th, 2012 · Comments (1)

    It is amazing that New York has never been able to get more than one game ahead of Baltimore since September 2nd:

    Rk Gm# Date W-L Rank GB
    1 134 Monday, Sep 3 76-58 1 up 1.0
    2 135 Tuesday, Sep 4 76-59 1 Tied
    3 136 Wednesday, Sep 5 77-59 1 up 1.0
    4 137 Thursday, Sep 6 77-60 1 Tied
    5 138 Friday, Sep 7 78-60 1 up 1.0
    6 139 Saturday, Sep 8 78-61 1 Tied
    7 140 Sunday, Sep 9 79-61 1 up 1.0
    8 141 Tuesday, Sep 11 79-62 1 Tied
    9 142 Wednesday, Sep 12 80-62 1 Tied
    10 143 Thursday, Sep 13 81-62 1 Tied
    11 144 Friday, Sep 14 81-63 1 Tied
    12 145 Saturday, Sep 15 82-63 1 up 1.0
    13 146 Sunday, Sep 16 83-63 1 up 1.0
    14 147 Wednesday, Sep 19 84-63 1 up 0.5
    15 148 Wednesday, Sep 19 85-63 1 up 0.5
    16 149 Thursday, Sep 20 86-63 1 up 1.0
    17 150 Friday, Sep 21 87-63 1 up 1.0
    18 151 Saturday, Sep 22 88-63 1 up 1.0
    19 152 Sunday, Sep 23 88-64 1 up 1.0
    Provided by Baseball-Reference.com: View Original Table
    Generated 9/24/2012.

    .
    Maybe today is the day that we finally see more than one game between the Yankees and Orioles? Since Baltimore has to play two games today, the odds of this happening are pretty good, no?

    For the record, the Yankees and the Orioles haven’t been separated by more than one game in the standings since September 3rd, as you can see, above. According to the Elias Sports Bureau, that’s the longest such streak in September or later since 1889.

    Yes, eighteen eighty nine.

    Comments on The Yankees Since September 2nd

    1. Evan3457
      September 24th, 2012 | 5:57 pm

      Me and my shadow,
      Strolling down the avenue,
      Me and my shadow,
      Not a soul to tell our troubles to . . .

      And when it’s twelve o’clock,
      We climb the stair,
      We never knock,
      For nobody’s there . . .

      Just me and my shadow,
      All alone and feelin’ blue . . .

    Leave a reply

    You must be logged in to post a comment.