• The True Mr. October

    Posted by on December 31st, 2005 · Comments (0)

    *Joe DiMaggio’s consecutive game hitting streak
    *Walter Johnson’s career shutouts
    *Peter Rose’s career hits total
    *Cy Young’s 511 career wins
    *Johnny Vander Meer’s two consecutive no-hitters

    These are the answers that you’re most likely to hear when you ask someone “What baseball record will never be broken?”

    Another one just occurred to me.

    Pitching in the post-season for the most seasons in a row.

    Mo Rivera has pitched in the post-season during every year in his big league career (to date) – 11 seasons. That must be a record – eleven in a row. In fact, Rivera’s 72 post-season appearances (by a pitcher) to date might be another unbreakable mark.

    Let’s hope that Mariano keeps adding on to his streak for a while more.

    No comments yet. Be the first.

    Leave a reply

    You must be logged in to post a comment.